Tribeca Review: Poser (2021)

As Lennon fuels her desire for entree into a podcast featuring live music and conversations with the artists she so fervently admires, Lennon finds inspiration for her own musical ambitions…and a growing sense of misdirected identity.

I had a very hard time deciding where to put Poser because it’s one of those films where I know I absolutely loved it but I definitely feel like I need rewatch it again so I’m placing as the sixth best of the festival with that said let’s talk about the film. Poser is a dark satire of the art music industry it’s a very anxiety driven film especially with the main leads Bobbi Kitten who plays herself in the film (which I thought was a nice touch) and Sylvie Mix both give fantastic performances and quite honestly some of the best so far this year. The cinematography is beautifully done with a ton of scenes that have powerful writing it as well, the movie itself also has actual indie bands in it who are played by the actual people or people who are in indie bands. Which is a very smart move because it keeps things authentic especially with the story that’s being told. There’s a lot Incredible character moments that develop throughout the film and turn into something really incredible, it’s these types of moments that make the film all the more real and actually relatable in someways. Overall Poser is an incredible film that isn’t going to be for everyone but I strongly recommend seeing it when it comes out!

10/10 A+

Leave a comment